November 3, 2015 Municipal Election

The City’s biennial election will take place on Tuesday, November 3, 2015. The City consolidates with the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk (LACRR/CC) to oversee the election.

The City Council has placed the following two (2) measures on the November 3, 2015 ballot:

Measure U: Utility User Tax

Shall an ordinance be adopted to update and extend for a period of ten years the Utility User Tax and reduce the maximum rate of the tax from 6% to 5%? YES ____ NO ____

Measure SA: Public Safety Tax

Shall an ordinance be adopted to continue a Special Public Safety Tax for Paramedic Services, Fire Protection and Prevention and Police Protection in the City of San Marino? YES ____ NO ____

In addition, two (2) Council terms are expiring: that of Mayor Eugene Sun and that of Council Member Dennis Kneier.

To qualify as a candidate, a resident must be a registered voter in San Marino, a United States citizen, and 18 years of age. The candidate nomination period is July 13, 2015 to August 10, 2015. If an incumbent does not file by August 10, 2015, non-incumbents have until August 12, 2015, to file. There is a $25 filing fee, and a charge to print the candidate’s statement in the Official Sample Ballot booklet. A calendar of events for the upcoming election is available from the LACRR/CC at (Local and Municipal Consolidated Elections—November 3, 2015).

Potential candidates are invited by the City Clerk to review a comprehensive notebook containing such documents as nomination papers, campaign committee forms and filing deadlines, checklists, and information about financial disclosures. This notebook will be provided to all those planning to file.

Prior to any campaign solicitation or financial contributions, a candidate must file a Form 501 (Fair Political Practices Commission) with the City Clerk. For further information or to make an appointment to discuss the candidate nomination process, you may contact the City Clerk at (626) 300-0705 or email at:

For polling place location and other information:

California Elections Code

Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk

League of Women Voters